Author | Comment |
Glue Probe Posted: 25 Oct 2007 17:40 GMT Total Posts: 12 | Does anyone know if there's ever been a program made that calculates your GPA? I want one and it seems a little hard for me to make. If anyone knows of one that's been made dyou think you could hook me up? |
Hydraliskisback Wraith
Posted: 25 Oct 2007 19:47 GMT Total Posts: 583 | A=4 B=3 C=2 D=1 F=0 if your in an AP add 1 for every AP class
add all these up and divide them by the number of classes you have me? 5+5+3+4+4+4=25 25/6= 4.3333333
--- Iff Hydralisk has posted the above, the above is stupid. |
Barrett Administrator
Posted: 25 Oct 2007 20:49 GMT Total Posts: 1676 | I think you mean 4.1666666666666666666666666666667
--- -Barrett A |
allynfolksjr Administrator
Posted: 25 Oct 2007 21:58 GMT Total Posts: 1892 | Lol, you add one for an AP class? But they're not any more difficult than a normal class... |
Lunchbox Carrier
Posted: 25 Oct 2007 22:51 GMT Total Posts: 2007 | In what state? Our normal classes were a joke and AP's were tough as heck. |
allynfolksjr Administrator
Posted: 26 Oct 2007 10:12 GMT Total Posts: 1892 | State would be meaningless, because supposedly AP classes are "standardized" across the nation. |
Hydraliskisback Wraith
Posted: 26 Oct 2007 11:29 GMT Total Posts: 583 | actually state does matter California's standards are a joke while theyre AP classes are tough, and a friend in North Carolina, their grades are 10%higher as in 85 for a B- kinda thing state
--- Iff Hydralisk has posted the above, the above is stupid. |
allynfolksjr Administrator
Posted: 26 Oct 2007 14:04 GMT Total Posts: 1892 | If you have a point, please make it clear. Thanks. |
Lunchbox Carrier
Posted: 26 Oct 2007 19:42 GMT Total Posts: 2007 | Sprechen Sie English?
And California's standards aren't a joke either. Some parts just don't adhere all too well to the standards, making it seem that way. Also, the "No Child Left Behind" policy sucks for some schools, mine being one of those. We always joked that we should shorten it to the "No Child Left" policy, wherein if you drop below a certain GPA, we ship you off to Iraq as cannon fodder. |
Hydraliskisback Wraith
Posted: 27 Oct 2007 10:42 GMT Total Posts: 583 | nice. i agree. and then pull those respectable marines out of there. keep blackwater there. those guys are douches.
--- Iff Hydralisk has posted the above, the above is stupid. |
Glue Probe Posted: 30 Oct 2007 14:14 GMT Total Posts: 12 | thats what I did, its hard and time consuming and I know theres probably a better way to do it but I made it, I dont have AP classes added in yet maybe I can do that sometime tonight. |
Hydraliskisback Wraith
Posted: 30 Oct 2007 16:40 GMT Total Posts: 583 | time consuming? just type in the numbers for every grade and do a little math its not overly hard. takes me 30 seconds. and i even have to remember each grade myself.
--- Iff Hydralisk has posted the above, the above is stupid. |
Glue Probe Posted: 30 Oct 2007 20:14 GMT Total Posts: 12 | Okay I finished it tell me what you think, I'm not sure if it's 100% fool proof but I made it the best I could with my limited BASIC skills.
http://www.turnernovak.uni.cc/downloads/calc/programs/GPA.zip |
Hydraliskisback Wraith
Posted: 30 Oct 2007 21:57 GMT Total Posts: 583 | mmmmm needs some help i dont think i have a 2.3333 XD also your coding is very ineffecient and make them type in a letter instead of a number, but if you still want to do numbers, just use the following knowledge as a helper:
0->Z ---(using this as a timer like thing, telling me how many times its been through the string of coding) 4->A --- (A in a class) 3->B --- (B in a class) 2->C --- (C in a class) 1->D --- (D in a class) 0->F --- (F in a class) "1st class"->Str1 ---(storing "1st class" as a variable that will display "1st class" wenever its called upon. press Vars then 7 then the number string you want) "2nd class"->Str2 " "3rd class"->Str3 " "4th class"->Str4 " "5th class"->Str5 " "6th class"->Str6 " while Z<6 (while we havn't gone through this six times, already. Z being the timer, remember?) ClrHome Z+1->Z (add time to the timer) if Z=1 (if the timer is such and such...) input,Str1,G (it asks you string 1, being 1st class, and stores it in variable G) if Z=2 input,Str2,H if Z=3 input,Str3,I if Z=4 input,Str4,J if Z=5 input,Str5,K if Z=6 input,Str6,L ---(outputs the strings as a question) G+H+I+J+K+L->G ---(im doing the math in steps, because somehow typing in the equation in one line screws up o.O) input,"number of AP classes? ",H G+H->G G/6->G ClrHome Disp "Your GPA is..." Disp G
--- Iff Hydralisk has posted the above, the above is stupid. |
Glue Probe Posted: 1 Nov 2007 19:06 GMT Total Posts: 12 | Yeah I lost you once you started storing 0 as Z, I dont get why youd do that, also Ive never used vars before |
Zachary940 Wraith
Posted: 1 Nov 2007 19:39 GMT Total Posts: 714 | All that the 0->Z is doing is making sure variable Z is 0. IF you used another program that used var Z the value could be 69. All the var is being used for is to count how many loops have gone buy. Personally I would have used a for loop.
--- It is much easier to suggest solutions when you know nothing about the problem. |
Glue Probe Posted: 2 Nov 2007 10:34 GMT Total Posts: 12 | I still don't get it I suck at math thats why I started making stuff like this so I could do better on math tests, so I don't get why you gotta make it efficient personally I'm fine if it works and I dont have to think to use it. |
Hydraliskisback Wraith
Posted: 2 Nov 2007 16:10 GMT Total Posts: 583 | im going to edit my coding and comment it completely for a better understanding. go back up to it.
--- Iff Hydralisk has posted the above, the above is stupid. |
Glue Probe Posted: 4 Nov 2007 11:05 GMT Total Posts: 12 | wow fudge this Im never using that vars stuff its way too complicated, thanks for the help though.
Edit by L: Don't swear, please. |
Hydraliskisback Wraith
Posted: 4 Nov 2007 18:20 GMT Total Posts: 583 | its not THAT complicated, depends on how youre looking at it... its actually easier using variables instead of typing everything out everytime youre using it, but owell. its ok the way the program is, i just thought id help it out.
and watch your mouth, please. a few of us are a bit tight nit about using those words. hopefully for you they wont look here.
--- Iff Hydralisk has posted the above, the above is stupid. |
Glue Probe Posted: 7 Nov 2007 19:50 GMT Total Posts: 12 | I mean like I get what you mean but I dont get how to do it |
Hydraliskisback Wraith
Posted: 8 Nov 2007 07:04 GMT Total Posts: 583 | :? take a number and press store and then do a variable. toy around with some variables and stuff for practice
--- Iff Hydralisk has posted the above, the above is stupid. |