Author | Comment |
stranded Marine Posted: 13 Apr 2004 13:56 GMT Total Posts: 39 | I made a new topic because I know little more about BASIC programing and I would like to learn more tips about making a MENU game. |
stranded Marine Posted: 13 Apr 2004 13:58 GMT Total Posts: 39 | Here to start us off on the last said
Heh, ok sorry but I am really excited about this programing thing. I found a really great site. It explains BASIC programming that starters can understand easly. The web site is
http://odin.prohosting.com/mjs2k/tutorials/index.htm
This will likely be most helpful to starters then have no programing exp. But there is also information about higher level programing such as ASSEMBLE. Now that I read part 1 and 2 of BASIC programing i am starting on my own adventure game.(Menu Game) |
spiral Wraith Posted: 13 Apr 2004 15:20 GMT Total Posts: 958 | "This will likely be most helpful to starters then have no programing exp. But there is also information about higher level programing such as ASSEMBLE." Assembly, or machine code is nearly the LOWEST level of programming. |
stranded Marine Posted: 13 Apr 2004 15:24 GMT Total Posts: 39 | Sorry... how do you make links? So what are some high level laugauges? |
Barrett Administrator
Posted: 13 Apr 2004 15:31 GMT Total Posts: 1676 | BASIC is about as high as a level as any sane person would want to use.
start with BASIC, and once you've mastered that, go to tigcc.ticalc.org and look into C programming with TIGCC.
by the way, if you want to make a link to calcgames.org, type the following:
<a href="http://www.calcgames.org">CalcGames.org</a>
the stuff between the " and the other " is the actual link. the stuff between the > and the </a> is the text that will show up. And if you do that, you need to select the "*HTML" checkbox. And if you have the HTML checkbox checked, you have to use <br> to make a linebreak (the thing you make when you press "enter" or "return").
--- -Barrett A |
stranded Marine Posted: 13 Apr 2004 15:39 GMT Total Posts: 39 | What are the differnt types of languages for ti's from easy to hard? |
stranded Marine Posted: 13 Apr 2004 15:46 GMT Total Posts: 39 | btw, B,Z,spiral,any other administators can you erase the LETS TALK ABOUT PROGRAMING topic? Do ya'll work for ti or is this web page ya'lls idea?
[Edited by stranded on 14-Apr-04 00:46] |
Lunchbox Carrier
Posted: 13 Apr 2004 16:35 GMT Total Posts: 2007 | List of Languages: TI-BASIC is compatible to all TI calcs Assembly Language is compatible to all calcs TI-82 and higher C is compatible, to my knowledge, on only the TI-89, 92, and Voyage 200 EDIT: this is an independent website from the Texas Instrumeents corporation.
[Edited by Lunchbox on 14-Apr-04 01:36] |
stranded Marine Posted: 13 Apr 2004 18:32 GMT Total Posts: 39 | I still don't understand. Do they work for ti and they decided to make a website for it. Or did they make the website beacause they like ti. |
allynfolksjr Administrator
Posted: 13 Apr 2004 20:53 GMT Total Posts: 1892 | Some problems...
A 'high' programming language refers to a language thats written in a way that the mechine running the code has to transulate it to it's native language, which is slower (alot slower)...but also usually doens't let a buggy program mess up the mechine too badly A 'low' language is writeen in code much more like what the calc uses, and thus the processer doesn't have to interpet it quite as much...this is much more powerful and faster, but a bug can royally screw up a calc...
ASM, or a low lauguage is avaialbe for most TI-calc, including the TI-73...if TI didn't directly put ASM on the calc, then loopholes were found to execute ASM programs.
A form of C can be ran from the 68k calcs (89,92+,v200).
Also, flash is a form of ASM.
TI-BASIC: A 'high' language. And no, although the BASIC commands all seem and fuinction rather similar, the syntax is different for almost all TI-calcs... (However, the 89/92/v200 are extremly similar 82/83+/SE as are those <-)
|
zkostik Carrier
Posted: 13 Apr 2004 20:58 GMT Total Posts: 2486 | No, none of us work for TI (although some may wish so). This site is entirely our creation and was built and came to be known for the past two years. We in fact have nothing to do with TI and their official website and are on our own. However have do have a certain friendship with the official TI website and we are linked from them (that link in turn required us to maintain high level of content that means and bad words, files, etc. will be deleted/filtere or dealt with as necessary.)
Now about the high level programming language. Wording "high level" is understood as commands that can be read by hamans that is words. Compiler then translates words into the machine code which can be executed by your computer. Assembly is only one step up from machine code and thus is considered a low-level programming language. Because assembly is hard to read and debug, more and more people move away from it. However, there are still some programmers that argue that any real/serious programmer should know at least one assembly language. That is of course up to you to agree or disagree with that but I and others recommend that you start with Basic and if you succeed you can move over to a harder language such as TIGCC C or assembly.
All calcs have TI basic. Same goes for assembly but only low end calcs such as TI-81 do not support execution of assembly - actually only because they only allow 10 progs stored which are already prenamed. In fact, TI-82 and 83 didn't have direct assembly support either but there was a workaround to make asm progs run on these calcs. Currently C is only for the 68K calcs but that's only because TICT made a compiler that comples for the 68K cpu. That doesn't mean C is not possible on z80 calcs, it's just that no one had wrote a decent compiler for it.
Okay, sorry for the long essay but it sorta covered questions asked above.
--- 09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0 |
spiral Wraith Posted: 13 Apr 2004 23:54 GMT Total Posts: 958 | I didn't think the C compiler for TIGCC is created by TICT or TIGCC people. I think there already was a basic C compiler made for the 68k Motorlas, and then TICT has made some changes since. |
Barrett Administrator
Posted: 14 Apr 2004 07:27 GMT Total Posts: 1676 | correct spiral... the GCC already existed, they just adapted it to use the TI ROM calls and stuff. I don't know if "adapted" is even the correct word, but they obviously had to do a lot of stuff in order for the thing to use it.
--- -Barrett A |
stranded Marine Posted: 14 Apr 2004 15:20 GMT Total Posts: 39 | Do ya'll know assembly? Or C? If so ow long did it take you to learn it? One more question, how long did it take you to learn BASIC? |
allynfolksjr Administrator
Posted: 14 Apr 2004 18:18 GMT Total Posts: 1892 | BASIC=easy
ASM, quite a bit longer to learn |
zkostik Carrier
Posted: 14 Apr 2004 18:45 GMT Total Posts: 2486 | I know basic and some C but i don't program any of the two for calcs. Barrett knows basic and C and does the programming for our games. Never counted how long it took to learn either one, it's just when you start something you eventually get the hang of it. Don't bother yourself with "how long's", just go ahead and start learning basic. Any programming language experience will eventually make it easier for you to learn other programming languages in a long run.
--- 09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0 |
dysfunction Goliath Posted: 15 Apr 2004 08:34 GMT Total Posts: 122 | Basic I learned enough to make a menu game within a few weeks, but it took me almost six months to fully master it. I've been learning assembly for about four months and only know it fairly basically. |
Lunchbox Carrier
Posted: 15 Apr 2004 15:44 GMT Total Posts: 2007 | BASIC = easy to do small stuff, such as math programs ASM = brain aneurysm for the first three day you try to learn it, then it gets easier C = in the middle of the two other languages.
EDIT: to master any of the languages take s a looooong time. :(
[Edited by Lunchbox on 16-Apr-04 00:45] |
stranded Marine Posted: 20 Apr 2004 15:12 GMT Total Posts: 39 | Alright I have the graph link cable or the one that hooks up to the internet. Now what do I do from here to get games? |
spiral Wraith Posted: 20 Apr 2004 16:47 GMT Total Posts: 958 | graph link cable doesn't hook up to the internet, it hooks up to your computer.
to get games go to calcgames website, to install them onto to your calculator read an FAQ. such as this one: http://www.calcgames.org/faqs/ti83p_basics/ |
stranded Marine Posted: 20 Apr 2004 17:07 GMT Total Posts: 39 | Z, in your tutural about geting games on your calc ( the link spiral had right above this) how do you get from the screen that says "TI DIVIDE EXPLORER" to "FOLDER WITH SOME DOWNLOADED FILES"?
[Edited by stranded on 21-Apr-04 02:13] |
Barrett Administrator
Posted: 20 Apr 2004 17:34 GMT Total Posts: 1676 | you don't.
please read all of the text in the FAQ; the reason there is an "FAQ" (frequently asked questions) is so that questions that get asked frequently don't have to be answered frequently.
that "folder with some downloaded files" has nothing to do with the ti-device explorer. you get to that folder by finding it on your computer (it could be your desktop, for instance, or wherever you keep your downloaded files.)
--- -Barrett A |
Lunchbox Carrier
Posted: 20 Apr 2004 19:51 GMT Total Posts: 2007 | lol B, never give a straight answer do you? :D
About the Link cable, this is what i told some1 in another thread: "First of all, tell us exactly where you have your problem. Second, here's my little walk through: 1.Download the file from the website and save it to a folder on your computer. 2.go into the folder where yo saved the file to, right click on it, and select extract all. 3.open the new folder and send the .8** file, for example mario.8xp is the mario program for the TI-83 Plus, to your calculator by highlighting it, right-clicking on it, and clicking on send to connected TI device: archive. 4.Open the memory menu {[2nd][+] on an 83 plus} and see your program there!" |
stranded Marine Posted: 21 Apr 2004 16:35 GMT Total Posts: 39 | lol bad timing I already figured it out. It took a while but it worked. It was HARD to fig. out too. I finaly finshied me menu game, most kids at school think its cool. Now I just need to know how to put games on your web site.
[Edited by stranded on 22-Apr-04 01:35] |
Lunchbox Carrier
Posted: 21 Apr 2004 17:33 GMT Total Posts: 2007 |
kool, i'll test it out and review it for you then :)
|
spiral Wraith Posted: 22 Apr 2004 00:56 GMT Total Posts: 958 | "lol bad timing I already figured it out. It took a while but it worked. It was HARD to fig. out too." using your brain is a good thing. |
Lunchbox Carrier
Posted: 25 Apr 2004 01:46 GMT Total Posts: 2007 | Chill Spiral, don't beat down on him just cause he asked a dumb question. Everyone does sometimes :img23: .
BTW Z, nicely done new poll ,but terrifyig results :P
[Edited by Lunchbox on 25-Apr-04 10:57] |
stranded Marine Posted: 28 Apr 2004 18:00 GMT Total Posts: 39 | Ok, now how do I put my game on your website? |
zkostik Carrier
Posted: 28 Apr 2004 18:33 GMT Total Posts: 2486 | click the "Submit Files" link on the bottom bar. fill in the blanks and upload your file. that's it. if for whatever reason uploader doesn't work for you, you can email the file either to me or to Barrett (see out emails on the Contact page) but make sure you don't forget to include all the details like title, description, platform, etc.
--- 09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0 |
stranded Marine Posted: 3 May 2004 19:04 GMT Total Posts: 39 | When I put my game on you'r website when do you think you will put it in you'r games profile? |
dysfunction Goliath Posted: 4 May 2004 08:01 GMT Total Posts: 122 | Stranded what's your game? |
Lunchbox Carrier
Posted: 4 May 2004 21:34 GMT Total Posts: 2007 | Good question D, i was hoping the answer would be something like: "good" |
Digital Guardian
Posted: 4 May 2004 23:34 GMT Total Posts: 1051 | Just a small note I'm usually refered to as "D." I had to make a double-take since I didn't ask a question.
stranded: It will be put on the site (I believe thats what your asking) for all to see and download when B or Z have time to validate it. Niether spiral nor myself don't know how to do it, and B and Z are busy this week. Give it a few more days and you'll see it. |
Lunchkin Marine Posted: 7 May 2004 14:21 GMT Total Posts: 17 | I went to that website you posted about in the 2nd post, I made the program he shows at the end but when I move the THETA It leaves a trail..It looks like this:
Ø| | | Ø| | | Ø| ----+ Ø| ØØØØØ | ØØØØ Ø+-----+ | -+ Ø | | | ØØØØ
You get the idea.
How do I get rid of the trail???
-Lunchkin |
Lunchkin Marine Posted: 7 May 2004 14:43 GMT Total Posts: 17 | Ya, my picture screwed up somehow, so i'll explain verbally, my THETA keeps leaving a trail when it goes so I have multiple THETA's on the screen....I need to know how to get rid of that trail.
-Lunchkin |
Lunchbox Carrier
Posted: 7 May 2004 16:39 GMT Total Posts: 2007 | use this coding in a program: clrhome 1->A:1->B Lbl X Output(A,B,"[THETA]" while 1 getkey->X while X=0 getkey->X end Output(A,B," ") [there is supposed to be a space in between the quotes] if X=24 B-1->B if X=25 A-1->A if X=26 B+1->B if X=34 A+1->A if A<1 1->A if B<1 1->B if A>8 8->A if B>16 16->B goto X end |
Lunchkin Marine Posted: 7 May 2004 18:29 GMT Total Posts: 17 | Where in the program do I insert that?
-Lunchkin |
Lunchbox Carrier
Posted: 8 May 2004 12:34 GMT Total Posts: 2007 | that's the programming code that allows your THETA to move across the screen. if you put that into a separate program and run it, you can just move THETA around the home screen. |
Lunchkin Marine Posted: 8 May 2004 16:34 GMT Total Posts: 17 | But where in the program would I insert it?
View http://odin.prohosting.com/mjs2k/tutorials/index.htm for the program. |
spiral Wraith Posted: 9 May 2004 00:41 GMT Total Posts: 958 | if you integrate the code, you won't need this, but are you remembering to erase the Theta at its original location before moving it? |