Author | Comment |
Xero Xcape Marine
Posted: 24 Mar 2005 15:05 GMT Total Posts: 29 | I made a program that takes a Picure, and turnes it into a String, then makes that String a List, and compresses the list. the final size, 500 +/- bytes for the list :) this really kicks CalcZip's a**... the only problem... My comp dosen't work, and the compressing thing works about 79% of the time.
--- BASIC flames are for n00bs, you don't want to be a n00b do you? | My other calc is a Porsche. |
Lunchbox Carrier
Posted: 24 Mar 2005 17:30 GMT Total Posts: 2007 | How do you do that? A pic var, if you are using all the rows, is aboot as small as frickin possible (1 bit per pixel). |
zkostik Carrier
Posted: 24 Mar 2005 19:32 GMT Total Posts: 2486 | It must take a looong time to do all that. Nice work tho. However, there's a program on ticalc which lets you create an assembly prog out of your pic and it also compresses them. Could be pretty handy for basic development and such. Nice job nevertheless.
Btw, storing compressed stuff in a string would require less space than a list. If I remember right, each list element takes around 13bytes and they're limited to 999 elements...
--- 09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0 |
darksideprogramming Guardian
Posted: 28 Mar 2005 19:32 GMT Total Posts: 1005 | That's correct, Z. My CalcZip *ahem* converts lists to strings. |
Lunchbox Carrier
Posted: 28 Mar 2005 22:19 GMT Total Posts: 2007 | no, each list element is 9 bytes in standard floating-point format. A list also has 2 bytes at the front to indicate the number of elements. (And, of course, 8 + the length of the name for the vat entry, but every variable has that). |
zkostik Carrier
Posted: 28 Mar 2005 22:29 GMT Total Posts: 2486 | Ok. So why use lists and not strings anyway? Are you doing that because of custom names (and not 10 string limit thingy) for lists at the expense of extra memory?
--- 09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0 |
Lunchbox Carrier
Posted: 29 Mar 2005 17:34 GMT Total Posts: 2007 | You could just store the arbitrary data in an appvar, but that would require *gasp* assembly! |
Xero Xcape Marine
Posted: 31 Mar 2005 09:42 GMT Total Posts: 29 | Okay... after 29 straight hours of de bugging here's how this works...
You make a nice pic on the graph screen... You run Pic2Str... Select compress... Wait for the 10 min. it takes on a normal 83+... Exit the program... Type this "LPICS->L(Whatever)" (the "L" is acually the list thing) To decompress it just store your list in list PICS and run Pic2Str and select decompress...
--- BASIC flames are for n00bs, you don't want to be a n00b do you? | My other calc is a Porsche. |
Lunchbox Carrier
Posted: 31 Mar 2005 10:38 GMT Total Posts: 2007 | Will it take an entire 6,144 pixel (96*64) graph screen and compress it? |
Xero Xcape Marine
Posted: 10 Apr 2005 12:43 GMT Total Posts: 29 | well acually it takes a 62x94 (i think...) and compresses it
--- BASIC flames are for n00bs, you don't want to be a n00b do you? | My other calc is a Porsche. |
zkostik Carrier
Posted: 10 Apr 2005 13:14 GMT Total Posts: 2486 | It'd be 96x64 (width * height) but since bottom/right the pixel lines (as noted above) are reserved, they will not show. I think the pic vars actually cover the whole physical screen though. You only only use these pixels from an asm program. Though, why spend 10 mins compressing on a real calc when you can drop the pic and prog onto your VTI, uncheck speed limit and let it rip!
--- 09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0 |
Xero Xcape Marine
Posted: 10 Apr 2005 13:20 GMT Total Posts: 29 | well... It acually dosen't use a PIC var, it uses the screen only, soo, if you want to save your beautiful pictures you made in math class...
--- BASIC flames are for n00bs, you don't want to be a n00b do you? | My other calc is a Porsche. |
Lunchbox Carrier
Posted: 10 Apr 2005 16:28 GMT Total Posts: 2007 | Nope, I checked, pic vars don't store the last row.
|