Author | Comment |
alex10819 Wraith Posted: 4 Apr 2005 13:54 GMT Total Posts: 507 | im just wondering, could an ASM routine be written to detect the collision of two sprites being controlled by a BASIC program? and if so, could someone make one for me? not much payoff, but i might let you see the finished product before anyone else (this is Phoenix Basic im talking about here)...
if someone could do this for me, i think i could chop off almost a third of the lag... |
korkow Ultralisk Posted: 4 Apr 2005 15:28 GMT Total Posts: 465 | You could simply use the command "Px-Test" |
threefingeredguy Ghost
Posted: 4 Apr 2005 17:08 GMT Total Posts: 1189 | collision detection on a 8x8 grid or do they move freely?
and ill try to write it if you tell me what variables you have each sprites x and y coords in.
--- Someone call for an exterminator? |
Lunchbox Carrier
Posted: 4 Apr 2005 17:58 GMT Total Posts: 2007 | I can do it real easily and output it into any variable you want (1 for hit and 0 for clear, or something). Especially if you're using the 6x8 font set. Just tell me what the inputs are. |
alex10819 Wraith Posted: 6 Apr 2005 13:11 GMT Total Posts: 507 | heh... in using Codex so i have actual 8x8 sprites...
and i know i could use pixel test, but that means i need another if:then not to mention the PixelTest... also, Pixel test only tests one point at a time, i need to test the entire sprite for collisions...
im also seeing if Cemetech has any ideas... |
Lunchbox Carrier
Posted: 6 Apr 2005 18:05 GMT Total Posts: 2007 | Geez, 8x8 is even easier (At least for me :) ) |
alex10819 Wraith Posted: 7 Apr 2005 13:36 GMT Total Posts: 507 | cool... and this can be called from basic? |
TI Freak Probe Posted: 7 Apr 2005 14:16 GMT Total Posts: Edit | Well, it might be capable to do so through the use of a string, though I can't even begin to guess at the lag time it would cause for moving enemies of a full grid. By the time you get down to a couple enemies, it wouldn't be too bad...
[Edited by TI Freak on 07-Apr-05 23:16] |
alex10819 Wraith Posted: 7 Apr 2005 14:21 GMT Total Posts: 507 | i think what i will do is put it inside my For loop that moves the shots currently on screen.
{L4(M),L4(N),L3(1),L3(2)}:Asm(whatever)
this could detect whether the sprites were touching (thank TI for the ans variable...)
M is the address in list 4 of the X-coord of the shot, N is the address of the Y-Coord... (in case you were wondering) |
Lunchbox Carrier
Posted: 7 Apr 2005 22:04 GMT Total Posts: 2007 | Yes, it could be called from within a basic program. |
alex10819 Wraith Posted: 8 Apr 2005 15:32 GMT Total Posts: 507 | good... thats the sort of thing i need... |