http://calcg.org/newlogo2.png Not Logged in.
Login | Register

General Discussion Board \ Game and Program Discussion \ the rand functions

Click here to log in (you must be logged in to post comments).

AuthorComment
gulyman
Goliath
avatar
Posted: 19 Jun 2007
17:24 GMT
Total Posts: 144
When you use the command randInt(, a random number appears. Anyone know how it picks a different number each time? I once heard of someone who changed the number that the random number is generated from. Anyone know how to do that?
haveacalc
Guardian
avatar
Posted: 19 Jun 2007
22:00 GMT
Total Posts: 1111
X->rand

---
-quoted directly from most movies that don't exist (and some that do).
threefingeredguy
Ghost
avatar
Posted: 20 Jun 2007
07:51 GMT
Total Posts: 1189
If you do X->rand like haveacalc said, it lets you set the seed for the random function. If you input 10 every time, you'll get the same result every time. Most of the time it has a better way of picking a seed.

---
Someone call for an exterminator?
gulyman
Goliath
avatar
Posted: 20 Jun 2007
15:28 GMT
Total Posts: 144
ok so if the "random" numbers repeat themselves when you input the same number, what pattern do the numbers come from. Is there a program or something?
haveacalc
Guardian
avatar
Posted: 20 Jun 2007
19:58 GMT
Total Posts: 1111
There's an algorithm. Does it matter what it actually is, though? You can save the position of the rand seed by doing rand->X and then recalling it later, so anything that you would use the algorithm for would be much more easily done by using the functions TI has laid out for you.

---
-quoted directly from most movies that don't exist (and some that do).
Super Speler
Dragoon
avatar
Posted: 20 Jun 2007
20:06 GMT
Total Posts: 50
http://www.unitedti.org/index.php?showtopic=6883

---
"My doctor says that I have a malformed public-duty gland and a natural deficiency in moral fibre and that I am therefore excused from saving universes."
gulyman
Goliath
avatar
Posted: 28 Jun 2007
18:46 GMT
Total Posts: 144
facinating as that is, how does the rand algerithem work? Is there a copy of it?
Super Speler
Dragoon
avatar
Posted: 28 Jun 2007
21:02 GMT
Total Posts: 50
That I'm not sure about, sorry.

---
"My doctor says that I have a malformed public-duty gland and a natural deficiency in moral fibre and that I am therefore excused from saving universes."
gulyman
Goliath
avatar
Posted: 28 Jul 2007
18:13 GMT
Total Posts: 144
@ super speler

"My doctor says that I have a malformed public-duty gland and a natural deficiency in moral fibre and that I am therefore excused from saving universes."

Is so a quote from the hitch hickers guide to the universe.
Super Speler
Dragoon
avatar
Posted: 28 Jul 2007
20:27 GMT
Total Posts: 50
Actually, no it isn't.

---
"My doctor says that I have a malformed public-duty gland and a natural deficiency in moral fibre and that I am therefore excused from saving universes."
threefingeredguy
Ghost
avatar
Posted: 30 Jul 2007
12:25 GMT
Total Posts: 1189
It IS a quote from The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy. Not hitch hickers guide to the universe.

---
Someone call for an exterminator?
coolethan
Marine
avatar
Posted: 4 Aug 2007
12:43 GMT
Total Posts: 27
yes gulyman even i knew it was called hich hikers guide to the galaxy, how many times have you read that thing anyways.
gulyman
Goliath
avatar
Posted: 28 Oct 2007
22:20 GMT
Total Posts: 144
Twice, actualy have a copy of all 4 books in one. I learned all my life leasons from it, like how to fly.
john777
Ultralisk
avatar
Posted: 28 Oct 2007
22:42 GMT
Total Posts: 289
Try not to bump please.
Hydraliskisback
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 28 Oct 2007
23:03 GMT
Total Posts: 583
actually i use
randint(minnumber,maxnumber)->X
if X=1
blahblahblah

---
Iff Hydralisk has posted the above, the above is stupid.
1337h4kor
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 31 Oct 2007
17:18 GMT
Total Posts: 612
The calculator using a built in function that modifies a time function that's stored inside of the calculator itself. It modifies it somehow. I've been looking for the algorithm for some time now also but to no avail. Also it repeats parts because the calculator isn't that advaced. The probability is only about 25% chance of a person being able to guess the random number. On a computer, 12% chance that it could get. On the TI-84+ SE, I know for a fact that the seed function chooses a number based on the time function. Other than that, I'm sorry I don't know enough about it.

---
I wish i could swim in the sea of probabilty but once during my life.
gulyman
Goliath
avatar
Posted: 31 Oct 2007
17:32 GMT
Total Posts: 144
By time function, do you mean an internal clock? Because I'm pretty sure the 83+ doesn't have one.
Hydraliskisback
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 1 Nov 2007
07:06 GMT
Total Posts: 583
i believe i know about what hes hinting upon.
the random function (in C++) is based off of this complex algorithm which estimates the seconds from the beginning of time until like 1000 years from now or something like that
then those numbers are up for picking.

---
Iff Hydralisk has posted the above, the above is stupid.
1337h4kor
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 2 Nov 2007
03:08 GMT
Total Posts: 612
I mean when its on, it counts how long it's already been running. Even if the calc doesn't have an internal chronometer. It still realizes the passage of time. Thus it does a complex algorithm based on the time that the calc was first made. On the calcs without built in clocks, it has a preloaded algorithm that does some really complex algorithm and thus picks it that way. The randomness of the full thing though isn't really that great. It still has small capicitors that are continually keeping track of things and thus it almost has a time function. It may not be able to tell you what time it is but it does know how long it's been since it last reset. Thus that is the time that it uses. Woah, a lot of complex thought just went into that. And yes hydra, the computer languages do use the clock and then modify that I'm sure about. But not really that complex for calculator. The clock is the key in all of the smaller programming languages like VB. Also the clock is definatly added into it, it helps the program by choosing what to do next.

Oh snap! I've just said something that makes perfect sense. Run away!

@gulyman
Is it the 'THE ULITMATE HITCHHIKERS GUIDE'. The one that has gold leaf pages and is leather bound including 2 bonus stories including 'YOUNG ZAPHOID PLAYS IT SAFE', and 'MOSTLY HARMLESS'. So hah my copy is cooler.

---
I wish i could swim in the sea of probabilty but once during my life.
Lunchbox
Carrier
avatar
Posted: 2 Nov 2007
10:24 GMT
Total Posts: 2007
The random number generator on the 83+ series is a pre-determined sequence of numbers that restarts every time you reset your RAM. Don't believe me? Reset your RAM and press rand. You'll get .9435974025 every time.
Hydraliskisback
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 2 Nov 2007
16:09 GMT
Total Posts: 583
pre determined?
thats no fun...


---
Iff Hydralisk has posted the above, the above is stupid.
1337h4kor
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 2 Nov 2007
21:39 GMT
Total Posts: 612
see like I said, with no clock, no fun with rand function. That's really random.

---
I wish i could swim in the sea of probabilty but once during my life.
Lunchbox
Carrier
avatar
Posted: 3 Nov 2007
01:18 GMT
Total Posts: 2007
Pseudorandom.
Hydraliskisback
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 3 Nov 2007
11:41 GMT
Total Posts: 583
wannabe random.
so how does it predetermine things like randint(1,4)?

---
Iff Hydralisk has posted the above, the above is stupid.





Portal | My Account | Register | Lost Password or Username | TOS | Disclaimer | Help | Site Search | File Archives Copyright © 2002-2019 CalcG.org