http://calcg.org/newlogo2.png Not Logged in.
Login | Register

General Discussion Board \ Calculator Discussion \ Super-slow calculator

Click here to log in (you must be logged in to post comments).

AuthorComment
trackstar6053
Marine
Posted: 19 Jan 2006
06:32 GMT
Total Posts: 38
So as you have probly read I am working on my game called ADVENTUR and it is going preety good, mainly were just working out bugs in the first level... Well i let a guy in my class play ADVENTUR, and when i tried to run it (later the next day) it was being very very slow at the begining, (it took about ten seconds, of black screen, then it ran the prgm) I messed with it, and put a Goto loop around the begining to see if anything was wrong in there.
the begining of the prgm looks like this:

ClrHome
ClrDraw
ZDecimal
Full
GridOff
LIne(bla bla bla
LIne(bla bla bla
LIne(bla bla bla

So I edited it like this:

goto A
ClrHome
ClrDraw
ZDecimal
Full
GridOff
Lbl A
LIne(bla bla bla
LIne(bla bla bla
LIne(bla bla bla

That solved the problem temporaraly, but the game is composed of 9 prgms running togeather, (i plan to put them all in one, when i finish) and whenever it would encounter a prgmLOAD or whatever theprgm was clled it would wait for like 10 seconds (like I said)
So i put those Lbls and Gotos on all of the prgms, and it worked for a while, but i needed the screen to be cleared,, and to change the Window size, so when i removed them and ranthe prgm it did fine. worked like it was supposed to, until This morning. now no matter what i do its slow, and then randomly its not slow any more.

Im a preety experienced programer, and i looked around a little bit and found nothing. I did a full memory reset, and that did not help. Any suggestions? If my game is slowed down this could be really bad, and i dont want this to srread to my other prgms!!!

Thanks
Andy
Administrator
Posted: 19 Jan 2006
10:15 GMT
Total Posts: 939
Just a stab in the dark, but try putting FnOff at the beginning to turn all graphing off. It might be trying to redraw the graphs.
BullFrog
Wraith
Posted: 19 Jan 2006
22:05 GMT
Total Posts: 623
Why are you including "Full" and "GridOff"?

---
"Men are not prisoners of fate, but only prisoners of their own minds." -Franklin D. Roosevelt
trackstar6053
Marine
Posted: 20 Jan 2006
03:29 GMT
Total Posts: 38
Incase someone has the screen set to Horiz or incase someone has their grid on why?
Andy
Administrator
Posted: 20 Jan 2006
04:06 GMT
Total Posts: 939
Also, if you're going to do that, you should be nice and save a GDB when you start and restore it when you quit. There's nothing that annoys me more than a program mucking with my graph settings and not bothering to put them back when it's done.
Nintendork
Probe
Posted: 20 Jan 2006
14:49 GMT
Total Posts:

Edit
Yeah, what they said. I can't program too well.
Coolv
Marine
Posted: 20 Jan 2006
15:47 GMT
Total Posts: 46
Note - the slowness also may be caused by the program re-linking.
trackstar6053
Marine
Posted: 22 Jan 2006
09:19 GMT
Total Posts: 38
what does that mean? re-linking to what? elaborate please





Portal | My Account | Register | Lost Password or Username | TOS | Disclaimer | Help | Site Search | File Archives Copyright © 2002-2019 CalcG.org